

## PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 31, 2024 **Contact:** Kristen DaMetz Communications Director AIA Kansas City 816.221.3485 Kristen@aiakc.org

## Local architectural students awarded \$49,500 in scholarships

Kansas City, Missouri - The Kansas City Architectural Foundation (KCAF) and the American Institute of Architects Kansas City are pleased to announce that 13 outstanding students have been selected as recipients of KCAF Scholarships. The scholarships are awarded each year to deserving students from the greater Kansas City area, who will be or currently attend an accredited architecture school. Selection criteria include demonstrated financial need and academic performance. This year's recipients will be celebrated at an event in August.

We are pleased to award scholarships to the following students:

- The Kivett Scholarship is awarded to: Logan McIntosh – Kansas State University
- The **Ted Seligson Scholarship** is awarded to: **Connor Carlson** – University of Missouri – Kansas City
- The Fellows Scholarship is awarded to: Diego Ortiz – Kansas State University
- The **Peggy and Frank Zilm** is awarded to: **Sarah Montes** – University of Kansas
- The Kent Spreckelmeyer Scholarship is awarded to: Kaitlin Salanski – University of Kansas
- The **Daw/Jarvis/Goodman Scholarship** is awarded to: **Brandon Kirmer –** Kansas State University
- The DLR Group Scholarship is awarded to: Kylee O'Dell – Kansas State University
- The Women in Design Kansas City Scholarship is awarded to: Chloe Grimm – University of Kansas
- The AIA Kansas City Scholarship in conjunction with AIA National is awarded to: Hazel Dawbarn – Kansas State University
- Kansas City Architectural Foundation General Scholarship is awarded to: Leslie Ponce-Diaz – Harvard
- Kansas City Architectural Foundation General Scholarship is awarded to: Grace Neperud – Kansas State University

## Kansas City Architectural Foundation General Scholarship is awarded to: Zoe Land – University of Kansas

## Kansas City Architectural Foundation General Scholarship is awarded to:

**Isaac Smith** – University of Kansas

The **Clarence Kivett Scholarship** was established in 2012. In 1945, Kivett started the firm of Kivett and Myers, Architects and Planners with Ralph Myers. Kivett and Myers was a well-known architecture firm in Kansas City designing notable projects such as the Kansas City International Airport, Truman Sports Complex and the Biological Sciences Building at the University of Missouri–Kansas City.

The **Ted Seligson Scholarship** was established in 2023. Seligson was a long-time professor at University of Missouri-Kansas City, and this scholarship was set up to continue his legacy and provide support for students are pursuing architecture degrees who are/have attended UMKC, or are attending Washington University.

The **Fellows Scholarship** was established in 2021. The College of Fellows is the most prestigious level of membership in AIA. Members of this group are elevated because of everything they have given back to the profession and the community. Keeping with that focus, the Fellows from AIA Kansas City started a scholarship to recognize students with outstanding academics and need.

**Peggy and Frank Zilm and Spreckelmeyer Scholarship** established two scholarships to honor young and deserving architectural students the first named The Peggy and Frank Zilm Scholarship' and the second to honor Kent Spreckelmeyer a professor at the University of Kansas for his strong commitment to mentoring students named as The Kent Spreckelmeyer Scholarship'. These scholarships were established to award to deserving students attending the University of Kansas.

The **Daw/Jarvis/Goodman Scholarship** was created in memory of three Kansas City architects to continue on their legacy and love of design. Friends and family made contributions to the Kansas City Architectural Foundation to start a fund in their name.

The **DLR Group Scholarship** was first awarded in 2019. This scholarship is presented annually to an outstanding student who promises to be a leader in their future career.

AIA Kansas City is a firm supporter of students pursuing a degree in architecture. Since starting the **AIA Kansas City Grant** in 2006, they have awarded more than \$50,000 in scholarships.

The **Women in Design Scholarship** was established in 2011 by the Women in Design – Kansas City organization. This scholarship was established to help support women seeking degrees in design professions from Kansas and Missouri.

**The Kansas City Architectural Foundation** is a charitable corporation (501(c) (3)) established in 1984 through the leadership of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Kansas City Chapter.

The Kansas City Architectural Foundation educates individuals and communities about the power of architecture to transform lives and improve the places where we live, learn, work, and play. Through our outreach programs, grants, scholarships, and educational resources, KCAF inspires people to become thoughtful and engaged stewards of the built environment. To learn more about the Foundation please our website at <a href="http://www.aiakc.org/about/kansas-city-architectural-foundation">http://www.aiakc.org/about/kansas-city-architectural-foundation</a>.

For more information, please contact The Kansas City Architectural Foundation c/o Dawn Taylor, Executive Director of the American Institute of Architects Kansas City Chapter, 816-221-3485 for information concerning these scholarships and applications.

###